Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
129 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a rough interior opening for which I'd like to build a custom glazed door and frame with an arched top. Similar to this, I think, except with a three center arch instead of a segmented single center arch:

See below for a three center arch, for those who don't know. I didn't know until a few days ago, and I've been staring at them every day for three years since I moved into this house.

I'm still in the planning and research phase for this project. At the moment, I'm trying to decide what kind of wood to use. It can all be paint grade as the rest of the house's trim is painted.

I'd like the materials to be as inexpensive as possible, yet still durable and long lasting. This is my first door/frame project, so I know I'll make a ton of mistakes and might burn some waste wood.

I visited my local hardwood supplier today and looked at their pine stock. It just all seems too knotty. I could laminate it all and cut out the knots, but it seems like a pain. Still... this might be the way to go for the frame/jamb? There is one other round window in the house, in one of the upper bedrooms, and it looks to be built-up laminated pine construction. Circa 1920.

The hardwood supplier recommended poplar. She said it was often used in paint grade situations for trim and door jambs. The nice thing about poplar is I can get it in different thicknesses and widths, so I wouldn't necessarily have to laminate everything. Maybe just some scarf joints. The poplar I saw was very clear, also, which is nice.

Would poplar also make a good door in this case? Is there a better choice? 8/4 poplar is $2.75/bf and red oak is $2.85/bf, so ... eh.... the price difference isn't all that dramatic. Not that I'd use red oak for the door. I just tend to use it as my baseline for price comparisons around here.