Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all,

I am somewhat new to woodworking. I've done some projects basic 4/4 hardwood boards I picked up at Menards. But now I've come upon some nice 8/4 maple and walnut I want to use for a project. I have so far done well with the standard 28 tooth blade on my table saw for ripping 4/4 boards.

I am familiar with table saw safety. But is there anything to know about doing a good job (technique, blades, etc) with these thicker boards? I just don't want to screw these nice boards up. Thanks!

·
Registered
132 Posts
Tricks are really depended on table saw you are gonna use :) If it's powerful table saw (3HP or more) I would rip it in one pass. If it's small saw I would do it in two-three passes with thin kerf ripping blade.

·
Registered
303 Posts