Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
162 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone! So, I'm a fairly tall guy(6'4"), and I've been noticing lately that when I spend any amount of time at all at the lathe, my back is wrecked. I have to crouch pretty far to get a good view of the work(I don't hover over it, and I keep a safe distance), and my lower back reflects this. Now, being entirely self taught, it is very possible that my stance is bad. I may not be facing the work correctly, and that could be causing me unnecessary stress. I plan on watching some videos today to see how people address their work, and trying to make sure my feet, torso and head are all positioned correctly. Aside from that possibility, does anyone else have height related issues? Should I just build a taller stand for my lathe(Harbor Freight 12x36ish)? Should I put it on a bench? Prior to this, my lathe usage was practically non-existent, but now I'm hooked, so I need to figure something out. I've got back problems as-is, so I don't want to exacerbate them to the point of having to quit woodworking altogether. Any idea would be great. Thanks!

WCT

·
Registered
1,494 Posts
Should I just build a taller stand for my lathe
That's a good idea .
The rule of thumb is , centre of spindle height same as elbow height .
Tailor that to suit you
At the Woodturning Guild workshop I went to down south , we had one lathe on extended legs , another on a low bench , and a few sets of duckboards for use anywhere they were needed .

·
Registered
1,021 Posts
I’m not tall (5’11”) but I had to raise my lathe (Nova 1624) an inch and half to be comfortable.
Dave Hout, and instructor, talked about it in his video. He found tall students ( 6-4 or over) also had a hard time maintaining control with spindle tools because they were having to reach down too much and lost the fine control when your arms form a triangle. He put the lathe on 4X4’s and the control problems went away.