Woodworking Talk banner

Any knife makers here?

1K views 14 replies 7 participants last post by  John Smith_inFL 
#1 ·
I've begun splicing ropes for my boat and have been using a high tech line called Dyneema. It dulls cutting blades really fast. I had been using scissors to cut it, but it dulls the blades so quickly that I think I'd be getter off to switch to a knife that I can sharpen as needed.

I'd like to find a place to buy a blade and make my own scales for something unique. I'd also love to get some advice on what material is best. I've been reading about ceramic, but I'm a knife newb, so I don't know what I don't know. Any advice to be had?

#3 ·
I've been summoned

Personally, I'm not sold on the utility of ceramic knives. Don't get me wrong, they're sharp, possibly moreso than steel, but they're also incredibly brittle. The slightest bit of sideloading can chip the edge, and if you drop it it's gone. Plus, no matter what the manufacturer claims, the edge WILL go dull. It might take a lot longer, but when it happens sharpening that edge is an absolute bear. Personally, I wouldn't bother, steel is the way to go as far as I'm concerned