Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

Looking for input from anybody who has experience as a jeweler, in ring making (Out of any material, professional or not), working with fine metals, etc.

I've been making a few wooden rings from veneer, and they're proving to be very fun, simple, quick, and rewarding little projects. Recently, however, I am really wanting to look into crafting an engagement ring (For obvious reasons ;) Help me out here!). I'll attach a few photos of some designs I really like. Thinking of mixing silver, wood, and some kind of stone.

So I'm just trying to figure out how I'd get started on a project like this.I have no experience working with metals or stones. Where do I start? Where do I go for materials? Any and all input is appreciated. I'm simply looking to build some connections with people who have experience, knowledge, or ideas to get this ball rolling!

(A couple rings I like the looks of. Would modify somewhere between the two)

https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/1...-9684-7bee9abf9d3c_1024x1024.jpg?v=1478037317

https://jewelrybyjohan.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/08/Moissanite-Wood-Wedding-Ring-Set-5_SKU2131.png

·
Generic Weeb
997 Posts
I used to turn wooden rings out of scrap for practice a while ago. Nothing anywhere near as fancy as those though.... They do look nice however

·
Registered
836 Posts
I once had a girlfriend make a ring. She started with a piece of wax that was sculpted into the shape of the ring. A mold is made around the wax, the wax is melted out and replaced with molten silver or gold. Then you file and smooth it.

In woodworking there is always more then one way to accomplish something.

·
Registered
713 Posts