Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Retired from a desk job a few years ago and immediately began accumulating equipment for a shop as it went on sale (one primary piece of equipment each year). Longtime DIY'er (hated to part with $$$ to fix something; results always functional, not always pretty). Have spent most of this early period making shop fixtures, jigs and storage units as well simple apartment furniture/fixtures for my daughter's 'flat' (not sure how it differs from an apartment?). The pieces are functional, but lack form. Definitely desire to improve my craftsmanship and am finding since I am a newbie, most every project I undertake involves doing something(s) for the first time. Plus everything my daughter asks for is sans plans ("Dad, can you make me this?" showing me a picture of something from Ikea). I have struggled through them (usually wastefully and at greater expense than if I had bought the Ikea). Anyway, I've had questions about equipment/tool/material selection and techniques with every project. Looking forward to learning from the wisdom and experiences of others!

Cheers!

·
Registered
1,030 Posts
Welcome. You have come to the right place. To start, my best advice would be to subscribe to a couple of woodworking magazines. Then there are lots of good woodworking books. Concentrate on learning joinery first. Anyone can cut boards. Putting them together properly is another matter.

·
Premium Member
6,559 Posts
Welcome aboard.
Main item of caution: Work as safe as possible and DO NOT, I repeat, DO NOT watch u-tubers and think they are working safely. A good amount of them are as unsafe as possible.