Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Master firewood maker
1,973 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a software developer, so I spend pretty much all day (5 days a week) at a desk staring at a computer screen. There are many studies that show that sitting so much is not good for you, so I am thinking about making a desk that is adjustable that I can stand at. Then I could get a low back bar stool and stand most of the time, but be able to sit as well, when I was tired of standing.

Has anyone here made such a desk? Thoughts?

·
Banned
3,533 Posts
Chris, we've had a couple of threads here in the past for similar concepts. To date, I don't believe I've seen a build thread though. My thoughts on this vary as I always like the idea of versatility.

I'd build something along the lines of an architect's drafting table, personally. Say, 4 feet wide by 2 1/2 or 3 feet deep. I'd put it at a little above standard bar height (42 inches) for the center of the range, probably about 44 inches. (I'm 6'1" tall).

In a perfect world, it would have a lift like for a barber chair that was foot activated for the two support legs. Think something like a pedestal table but maybe with a treadle bar that can actuate both lifts simultaneously. Perhaps the pedestal connector bar could be used as the treadle bar. I don't know if those lifts would give you enough height variation but it's where I'd start my design.

·
Registered
12,947 Posts
Do you really want a desk? or would a table do? A table would be easy to make.

"Then I could get a low back bar stool and stand most of the time," How does a low back bar stool qualify as standing?

Would not sitting be sitting, regardless of a bar stool or regular chair?

George

·
Banned
3,533 Posts