Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Howdy,

I'm Matt and if you can spare a few moments, give what I've got going on a read. If you have any useful advice or courses of action to suggest, I would appreciate it wholeheartedly. When approaching a subject I'm not familiar with, I try to reach out to any subject matter expert that can maybe lend a word or suggestion. I get new guys on the forums I habit too and I know sometimes it can be a pain. I work in the firearms industry and am a SME on some small arms stuff. I work well with my hands and I have a mechanical aptitude higher than average I would say. I can stone file and polish trigger/sear/disconnetor engagements pretty well if anyone knows what that entails. Woodworking wise I have basic joinery, basic carpentry, finishing skills enough to do what I want with my project. I worked as tile/hardwood flooring install man for a year in my younger days. Anywho, enough background. There's a different section for that.

I am wanting to build a very nice, elegant and simple wooden shadowbox with a lexan face to display a very good friends treasured pistol. The Colt 1911 was manufactured in 1918, left in an arsenal until the late 1930's until it was issued to his father, an young army pilot who would later take that trusted pistol with him over the skies of Germany a few years later. That pilot earned multiple medals for bravery and service that are to be displayed with the pistol. At least 3 confirmed, 4 probable Nazi warplanes couldn't harm Americans anymore by the time he flew home for good. Mr. Padgett passed away years ago and his son wants to honor his service and the brave man that he was. I am building this as a gift for the gentleman as I am also doing what I can with the pistol rebuilding wise without touching originality.