Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
100 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First of all Happy Thanksgiving to you and your families!

Now here is my potential issue. I recently bought a used Craftsman Belt Driven TS with a Vega Fence off of Craigslist for $125 (Model# 113.2990240). I am new to wood working and after debating between getting a new Dewalt Portable Saw ($300) and a used TS for $125 (again with a Vega Fence!) It seemed like the smart thing to do especially since I am just starting out.

I know a used saw from the 70s was going to have some issues but this is what I have encountered within the first week.

1. I noticed my blade has a slight wobble when I manually spin it. I replaced the blade but it still wobbles. I checked the inner collar attached to the arbor and it has a oh so slight runout on about 1/5 of the surface. I read a post on how to fix it with a grinding stone.
2. It makes a noise when the blade spins, I THINK it's the bearings which I think could be a big deal but I don't know
3. I am having a hard time tilting the blade past 15 degrees. It is very tough to turn but I think its just rust cause I had the same issue raising the blade but after scrubbing the raising thread it's running a lot smoother.
4. I literally turned her on for the first time 30 minutes ago and she was humming but then started making a weird noise. I thought something was wrong with the blade and quickly unplugged it....the inner belt wheel where the belt rides on started coming off!! I put it back on and tightened it but who know what would have happened if I didn't cut power when I did.
5. The base is not super solid so I either will have to reinforce it, buy a new one or build a new one.

Additionally over the course of this week I had to spend an extra $65 for a OEM blade guard off of eBay, $35 for a new blade and another $20 on lubricants/rust removal/Paste wax.