Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I found this table saw online that appears to have a lot of the features that I'm looking for (Thanks to knotscot for the wonderful guide.)

http://boston.craigslist.org/nos/tls/4199941211.html

I like the fact that the Grizzly G1011 is a belt drive cabinet saw and has the versatility to run at 110 and 220. All of that is perfect.

But am I going to regret buying a saw that only has 1 1/2hp? I was looking for a saw that I could use on hardwood flooring tasks, and to build cabinets, doors and furniture.

I'm brand new to woodworking but I have a number of projects that I must complete or my wife will kill me. Literally kill me. If I leave the house as it is for too long, and you don't see any new posts from me, you should send help to dig up the backyard. :icon_smile:

Thanks in advance for any help you all may be able to provide.

·
Sawdust Creator
8,046 Posts
Buy thin kerf blades and it's instantly the equivalent of a 30-40% power increase.

You'll have no problem with flooring or plywood. You may have difficulties with 2-3 inch thick stock, but nothing that can't be overcome by slowing down.

·
Registered
1,510 Posts
Nope, I ran one for years and it did just fine. Sure, more motor will cut faster, take bigger bites, and so on....but we're hobbyists; doesn't make much difference. For what you outlined that saw will be more than capable.

·
Registered
5,445 Posts
Ditto what others have said. Get the saw aligned well, and choose good blades that are suitable for the task. That saw has a good stout motor on it....the guts are actually really similar to some of the older PM's, Jets, Bridgewood, GI, and many others. That particular fence isn't awesome, but it'll do. Looks to be a very solid deal at $200 in that condition.

·
Registered
1,302 Posts