Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
152 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I'm building a shaker style dresser for my mother. This is my first project working from plans, usually I kinda just plan as I go and it seems to work for me. Anyhow, I overlooked a small but important detail. I got the side panels all put together and was doing a dry fit tonight and saw the problem. I think I have a solution worked out but thought I get more opinions. Problem is I located the mortise for the bottom rail to close to the inside of the case. Plans call for there to be 1/2 inch from the front of the leg to the start of the mortise I over looked this and just centered it in the 1 1/2 inch leg. I'll post pics after I'm done explaining. I hope you guys can follow me, I feel like I might not be painting a good enough picture. So the plans call for me to rip 3/4 of the front rail of the bottom dust panel so that it will but up against the back of the bottom rail of the case. I'm thinking I will rip more off the dust panel and the laminate a thin price on the face of the bottom rail to keep the reveal on the bottom rail the same as the rest of the dust panels. I think this will work fine because you wouldn't be able to see I did it unless you looked from the under side and it shouldn't affect the drawer depth as long as it's even with the other dust panels. You guys see any reason that won't work. Only other thing I can think to do is plug the mortise and cut a new one.

image-3251545723.jpg

image-4098438883.jpg

image-3100695609.jpg

image-1367984886.jpg

image-733616749.jpg

image-3395972664.jpg

pit bulls rock!

·
Registered
26,339 Posts