Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to woodworking and could use some simple advice for a simple problem: I have an end table that has had some abuse over the years. There are scratches in the finish and areas where the finish has completely rubbed off with the walnut veneer exposed in some areas, but no chipping or blistering to the veneer. This affects about a quarter of the total surface of the top of the table. My plan is to sand it by hand down to the veneer, clean it, re-stain it, and add a coat or two of poly. Is this the right course of action? Any advice is greatly appreciated. Or just point me to a post that has dealt with this. Thanks.

-Joe

·
Registered
26,365 Posts
If it were me I would start with a methylene chloride paint and varnish remover and take the finish off. Sometimes you can fight with the finish trying to sand it off and it will sand through the veneer before you get finish sanded off in some spots. When you have furniture with veneer on it, the less sanding you do the better. If it's walnut chances are you wouldn't need to stain it as walnut is dark anyway.

You mention scratches. If there is any severe scratches in the wood, if you take the finish off first you have the option of steaming the scratches to minimize the amount of sanding needed to clean them up. You can take a wet rag and place it on the scratched spot and place a hot iron on it. The iron is like you iron clothes with. The steam from the iron will greatly raise the grain making the wood that was scratched swell reducing the damage.

·
Old School
24,027 Posts