Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello woodworkers,

I am a journalist writing an article for a well known magazine regarding advice from fathers (It's a Father's Day-themed article)

So, I'm curious...Do you have any advice from your father you'd like to share? It should be in the vein of "How to...____", and be as specific as you can. Anything having to do with specific carpentry, home improvement, plumbing, etc. could be useful.

Post your responses here and I'll message you directly if I think your advice could be used. Thanks!

·
Registered
31 Posts
I can't recall one single piece of advise from my dad, I learned by his example though. Working side byside with him for more than twenty years. I learned my work ethic how to troubleshoot problems, be a better man, patience, way too many things to list and so many that Icould not list, because they are such a part of me. Way better than a just a little advice now and then if you ask meal

·
I wood if I could.
3,976 Posts
I certainly learned a lot from my dad. But one nugget of wisdom I'll always remember concerns the shaking of dew off the lily. And not believing crap you hear in commercials.

·
where's my table saw?
27,856 Posts
Advice FROM a father ok?

I have a 17 yr old son and give him this advice occasionally:

Remember these 2 Laws, Murphy's and Gravity. Murphy is always waiting for the chance to muck something up and Gravity takes over from there. :yes:
For instance always lay the 6 ft heavy pry bar down on the ground. Do not lean it up against the wall unless it's in a corner and can't fall over. :blink:

·
Registered
611 Posts