Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’m not sure if this is allowed, I am not a professional but this relates to work done by a professional and what you as a professional would have done. We ordered and were made a custom table, exact same wood species Maple with a reclaimed barn beam base. Attached is photo. Color on left was their showroom sample. Slightly different design was intentional. But right side photo is finished product. Would you have completed this piece with that much difference or would you have checked with your client? Would this color match be acceptable to you? Just a stock off the shelf stain color. The maker is fighting us on in saying they don’t guarantee a match and all wood is different. I get the variation thing but we are quite disappointed on this final result. They offered to refinish the piece for an additional $500 we thought this was outrageous. At one point I offered to kick in a couple hundred just to be done with the whole mess but they refused. At this point we are asking for our money back are we being unreasonable? Is there any way to prove that they may have used the wrong color or told us the sample on left was a different color than what it actually was right out of the gate?

·
Registered
8 Posts
I am an amateur, i don’t sell my work. However if i made that table for myself, and was trying to match the color of the tables i would have been extremely disappointed in myself.

I don't know if there is anyway to tell if they used the same color stain. But that is really not the issue. As i read your post you wanted the color of the tables to match, you really did not care how they did it.
Wish you luck

·
Administrator
David
5,616 Posts