Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,

So I've been hard at work since I arrived in Korea in October. I'll post a few photos of stuff I've made since then.

Here is a pretty simple segmented bowl. It was the first bowl I made after arriving here. It is made out of maple and a wood that the Korean seller called ebony, but it certainly is not the jet black kind. This ebony has a lot of swirls and looks more like walnut to me, but is more dense and turns beautifully.

Attachments

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Here is my current project. It is a Federal Style Night Stand. I am using the plan out of Glen Huey's "Building 18th Century American Furniture".

This is my first attempt at building furniture with turned legs. I have been practicing quite a bit with the skew and spindle gouges and getting better. I keep watching Raffan's "New Turning Wood" video, as well as John Lucas' youtube videos. I can cut nicely smooth long tapers with the skew, and sometimes are lucky cutting beads, but still get a lot of catches. I'm sure I am missing some detail. Hopefully I will have an "Aha" moment and connect the dots sometime.

I am actually a bit further on than this photo shows. I have cut the legs to length, glued the sides up and hand planed them to fit. Next will be to glue the front and back rails between the sides.

It is made out of the only lumber I can buy in the Army woodshop I am working in. The Korean shop manager calls it Luan, but it looks identical to the Philippine Mahogany that I have used before. It is quite soft and not the easiest to turn.