Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am just beginning to set up my dust collection system. My dust collector is a used Powermatic 3 hp , 2 bag dust collector. It came with three 4" ports and or one 6" port.

I plan on using 6" pvc main trunk line. The table saw will have one 5" line to factory collector(enlarged from 4" port) and one 2.5"or 3" overarm port..I am just in the process of making my own overarm collector.

I'll have one drop down over my bench for the router, one 2.5" for the chop saw and one 6" drop down for the planer and or jointer which are both on casters.

Menard's is the only place I found 6" pvc.. The problem is going to be fittings..I think I'm going to have to roll my own.

Anyway, that is my plan. I hope others with more experience will offer suggestions and criticisms.

Thanks,

Steve

·
Registered
1,510 Posts
Menard's has all the fittings you need. The sanitary wyes and wyes get fairly expensive, but the other stuff is as cheap there as you'll probably find. Make all your el's with 2-45's and a short piece of straight between the. As for the Menard's 6", it's 3034 and that stuff can be a fight when you are trying to hang it on the ceiling. That said, the Menard's price (when on sale) can be quite good on the staright pieces. But try to fins some ASTM d 2729 in 6". That's actually the thin wall that is a lot easier to deal with and a lot harder to find. If you have a Hughes Supply nearby, they may have it, there's a regional lumber chain called Carters that has it as well. You will probably be quite disappointed with the 2.5" at the miter saw. I went up to 4" and it still didn't work. You'll find the total cost of the fittings (if purchased) will be the most expensive part, so if you can roll your own you're way ahead.

·
Registered
44 Posts