Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
196 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm sure this has been asked before, but I searched to no avail. I don't currently have a jointer and have been looking for a while. I haven't had any luck on CL in my area (south AL), so I've been looking at the new Grizzly's. I'd love to have an 8", but the 6" can be had for much cheaper. Is the 8" worth the extra? Will I get the 6" and be let down? Should I get the 6" and then just upgrade later on? As far as the type of woodworking I do, I am fairly new to woodworking and hoping to continue to get better. I want to eventually be able to turn out some quality furniture, but right now I just make "designer firewood" (as someone's signature on here says). I also make the occasional rocking horse (avatar), toys and kid's furniture/accessories. Thanks for your advice.

·
Registered
1,183 Posts
I think if you can afford the 8" go for it, you won't regret it. I was on the look out for months for a used 6" jointer on CL and almost pulled the trigger on a couple, but they just were not right for the money they were asking. Finally I checked one day and a guy was selling an 8" Delta for $575. I checked it out and offered $500, we settled on $525. Long story short, I am glad I got the 8" one and skipped the 6" one, to only want to upgrade later.

If you are going to be building furniture, you are most likely going to be using wood wider than 6" and needing panel glue ups. Unless you only buy rough lumber smaller than 6" you will have to rip it down smaller to fit on the jointer, only to glue it back together later for larger panels. So if you can swing it, I say get the bigger one now. If money is too tight now, than get a smaller one and I am sure it will be fine, but I think you are going to want the bigger one eventually. Just my opinion.

My beast of a jointer.

·
Registered
5,445 Posts