Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a novice woodworker (calling me a woodworker at all is generous - I've made a few pieces of furniture out of cheap pine inside my Seattle apartment), and I decided to try something a bit adventurous for my latest piece, but it didn't go quite as planned.

My question is this: What is the best way to mask wood (before and after staining) so that you can achieve a 2-color stained piece?

Keep reading if you want to hear my experience.

I made a wine cabinet using pine trim and plywood for the shelves and sides, but instead of staining it all one color, I decided it would look great with dark trim and light shelves. I masked the plywood using regular masking tape, and applied the dark stain to the trim. Then after a couple days I removed the tape and masked the already-stained trim, then applied the lighter color to the plywood.

This mostly worked ok, but when I removed the masking tape, it took some of the stain with it in certain parts! I had to go back and touch up the dark color.

A few more details:
  • I didn't sand as finely as recommended because I like a more rustic look (and I'm lazy)
  • I'm using Minwax Wood Finish (oil-based), although in the past I used their water-based stain and found it easier to work with, in part because of the fumes in my apartment.

·
Registered
26,318 Posts
That takes a different technique. I usually mask off one area with just yellow tape and lightly spray the wood with a dye stain, the lighter of the two colors. It's important not to spray it wet as the dye will soak under the tape. Then once I get the color I need for that area I go ahead and put a coat or two of sealer on it. Then I remove the tape and mask off the area I sealed and stain the other area with a different color dye. Once I get the color I want I remove the tape and seal that area and go on with the finishing as though as it was a single color.

·
Registered
1,311 Posts