Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I have been lurking for a bit, decided to register and have two questions that I need some knowledge on. Firstly, I am a new woodworker - about 3 years - been gathering my tools and machines and building my home shop a bit over this time. Actually, I just sold my first table and benches set to my first customer this afternoon! feels great! But I have 2 questions as of now, and many more to follow, as I search the forums..
1) I got a new orbital sander which is hook & lock (my previous was an adhesive type). I noticed that at my retailer the Velcro type is up to $2.00 more per pack than the adhesive. I'm going to use a lot of these, so I tried to DIY it to make my Velcro sander able to use adhesive pads. I took an old Velcro pad, and glued epoxy it to a piece of 1/8" thick rubber. stuck the Velcro to the sander, and the adhesive sanding disc to the rubber. worked out great!.... until the epoxy melted between the Velcro pad and the rubber under the high heat of the sander after about 35 minutes. so question 1: what do you suggest to use as a high temp adhesive. I've googled of course, but want suggestions from people who know.
2) As stated before I am just starting out my woodworking "business?" and had my first customer today. I am into making different tables and benches, so far out of douglas fir or redwood, as I'm sure many of us started out at. But as I am buying construction grade wood (from my local diy store) I spend up to 50% of my time just sanding the wood to make it usable. This really increases the time it takes to make anything, and therefore increase the cost of making anything. I know there are some options.
a. buy a planer and get rid of that top stuff that sucks. ( great idea but they are quite expensive for me right now).
b. buy from a mill ( but every mill around me wants to charge crazy money for simple pine... like 67$ for a 2x4x10)