Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
DISCLAIMER - I'm a complete beginner in woodworking. I will work only with manpowered hand tools (except maybe for the circular saw).

I want to make a woodworking bench. But in my country it's very hard to find any boards thicker than 2-3 inch. 2 inch thick boards would mean alot of hand planing to glue them together properly for a circa 3 or more inch benchtop.

But today I found this boards: http://www.bolha.com/kmetijstvo-goz...les-hrastov--1286941040.html?aclct=1370885142

It's a 100 years old oak, thick 4.7 (12 cm) (some boards are less).

So,

Would that kind of wood (considering its age) plane well?

That old boards won't twist much, could I just saw them as wide as I can and with that reduce the amount of planing I would need to do on the sides?

Any other thoughts on wood selection? Should I just go with some thiner boards, where I can be more selective of the wood quality?

Thanks alot!

·
Registered
1,718 Posts
Those boards look purity sweet to work with hand planes an I don't think you can go wrong with them, I used European Beach, Mackory, Mangonoy, Hard Maple an Ash burl for mine, the Inlays are mostly Walnut an Maple

Attachments

·
Registered
284 Posts
@BC, that bench is sick. Go home! =)

@S7NF, those boards are killer. Even if it takes you longer to plane them down correctly, I think you would end up with a very worthy workbench. I would cut them down to rough size then plane out the gaps then glue the boards up. Then flatten the top.

·
Registered
1,718 Posts
:laughing::laughing::laughing: Yes its one of my work benches

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
@BC, that bench is sick. Go home! =)

@S7NF, those boards are killer. Even if it takes you longer to plane them down correctly, I think you would end up with a very worthy workbench. I would cut them down to rough size then plane out the gaps then glue the boards up. Then flatten the top.