• 1 Post By AmishElectricCo
  • 1 Post By MeasureThrice
  • 1 Post By MeasureThrice

post #1 of 17 Old 08-02-2018, 01:46 PM Thread Starter
...then measure again

View MeasureThrice's Photo Album My Photos
Workbench Questions/Concerns

Hey all,

Getting started with woodworking and setting up a micro-workshop in the garage, and looking for some advice/thoughts. I say "micro" because all of my tools have to fit in a floorspace approximately 3' x 10' or hang up on the walls, so that I can still park two cars when not working. To that end, I mocked up a design that I think might work, but wanted additional eyes on the project to see if there are any glaring issues that I might have overlooked (again, novice here):

Workbench Objectives:
  • Fit all large tools in a 3'x10' area (table saw, miter saw, planer, jointer, drill press)
  • When tools not in use, have a single uninterrupted work surface
  • Bench to double as in/out-feed table, or additional support, for all included tools
  • Mobile/wheeled, so it can be against the wall when not used, but in center of garage when in use

With those goals in mind, and using rough measurements of the tools I have or have in mind, I mocked this up:

From left to right is: table saw, miter saw, planer, jointer, and drill press (rough approximations based on dimensions listed online). The idea is that everything minus the table saw sits below the table surface when not in use, and is either lifted/rotated to be level with the top when used. The drill press can be rotated up (kind of like a flip-top table), and everything else is raised using either an RV or motorcycle scissor jack. GIF to demonstrate the idea:

...although I obviously wouldn't have them all up at the same time, that would kind of defeat the purpose...

Here are the concerns I have, which I hope y'all could provide some input on:

Weight