Wooden bench for cottage ideas - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 5 Old 08-01-2016, 08:49 PM Thread Starter

View Richard Koop's Photo Album My Photos
Wooden bench for cottage ideas

I'm a pretty novice woodworker but fairly handy. I have the following tools.
- circular saw
- chop saw
- skil/jig saw
- a few chisels
- some drill bits up to about 1 1/2"

I have some beautiful cedar wood at my cottage that I was thinking about making benches for around the fire pit. I'd like them to be comfortable with a back rest and each bench having space for about 2 or 3 people. The cedar I have is...
- 6 6"x6"x8' posts
- 15 2"x4"x8" boards

Any thoughts on what I can build with these kinds of materials and tools? I don't have a router.

I was thinking about each end having an upside down 'U' with the posts, an angled back with a post and then drilling inside each end and chiseling out a area in the posts to insert 2"x4" boards (3 or 4 on the seat and 3 or 4 on the back). I think this will look fairly clean you can use the thicker posts on each end to rest drinks on.

I'm just not sure of a few things.
- how to I attach the 3 pieces for the base (upside down 'U') considering the posts are 6"x6"?
- how do I attach the post back rest to the base at an angle to make it strong?

Any ideas or links to images/designs would be much appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 08-22-2016, 09:54 PM

View grantcarmichael's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard Koop View Post
I'm a pretty novice woodworker but fairly handy. I have the following tools.
- circular saw
- chop saw
- skil/jig saw
- a few chisels
- some drill bits up to about 1 1/2"

I have some beautiful cedar wood at my cottage that I was thinking about making benches for around the fire pit. I'd like them to be comfortable with a back rest and each bench having space for about 2 or 3 people. The cedar I have is...
- 6 6"x6"x8' posts
- 15 2"x4"x8" boards