Wood equipment height - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 3Likes
  • 2 Post By DrRobert
  • 1 Post By JohnGi

post #1 of 8 Old 02-08-2020, 09:04 AM Thread Starter

View Scruffer49's Photo Album My Photos
Wood equipment height

Hello everyone, newbie here, (retired)

I setting up my woodworking shop. I am just a hobbyist and my shop is approximately 1500 sq ft. I have a cabinet tablesaw with an extension table, 8" jointer, 12" miter saw, radial arm saw, two bandsaws (17" & 12"), shaper, and portable planer and various other tools. The bandsaws and radial arm saw I have grouped together at the same height. I was thinking about arranging the jointer, miter saw station, and shaper on the discharge side of the tablesaw outfeed table at the same height (using each machine's table as infeed & run-off platforms). My outfeed table is large enough where it would not interfere with any operation of the tablesaw. The working height is 35" and I would probably make a walking platform for the jointer. I am not worried about a trip hazard. Basically I am thinking of using the tools as table platforms for each other without interfering with there operations. I am not going to be specific woodworking. Any thoughts? Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 02-08-2020, 09:15 AM

View DrRobert's Photo Album My Photos
Using machines with fences? then you have to remove the fence and guard on jointer.

Seems awkward to me. Thats a very nice sized shop you have the room, to I would go with a dedicated outfeed table. You can build it out underneath to store blades and accessories.

I would add an assembly table the same height as the table saw is quite handy to use either to the side or in front when dealing with sheet goods or a large panel.
woodnthings and difalkner like this.

Robert
post #3 of 8 Old 02-08-2020, 10:41 AM
Wood machinist

View difalkner's Photo Album My Photos