Woodworking Talk banner

Wood durability and string tension

2K views 12 replies 8 participants last post by  DrRobert 
#1 ·
Hello everyone. I'm about to dive into a project of making a stringed instrument. I am a total novice and will have to do loads of research along the way. That being said, there is one thing I feel I need to understand before I even start, and that is how to calculate if a certain piece of wood is strong enough to withstand a certain amount of tension coming from the strings.

The tension of the strings is easy enough to calculate. Let's imagine I have X strings, each with Y pounds of tension, totaling Z pounds. Near to both ends of the piece of wood, the strings are held in place on tuning pins that have been driven into the wood.

So, where do I start? How do I know whether a given piece of wood will crack or break or whether the tuning pins will burst out of the wood? Is it dependent on all 3 dimensions of the piece? And, of course, it is dependent on the type of wood, but which properties of the wood? Density? Anything else? Do the strings have to line up with the grain or can they be at an angle?

As you can tell, I'm quite clueless, so any help would be appreciated!

#3 ·
Welcome to the forum, or welcome back since you joined in 2017! Add your first name to your signature line so we'll know what to call you and it will show in each post. Add your location to your profile, as well.

An acoustic guitar, for example, generally has a top made of Spruce with Spruce bracing to help it withstand the tension of the strings. There is usually a Maple bridge plate under the bridge and that keeps the ball ends of the strings from pulling through the softer Spruce top.

But it sounds like you're going to have a different configuration with pins at each end. What are you building? We do like photos!

David

#5 ·
Hi David. Will do!