Walnut Farm Table - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
View Poll Results: Is 5/8" thickness enough for a walnut dining room table?
5/8" thick table. 0 0%
3/4" thick table 1 33.33%
Mix the 3/4" boards beside the 5/8". 1 33.33%
Other 1 33.33%
Voters: 3. You may not vote on this poll

1Likes
  • 1 Post By Steve Neul

post #1 of 9 Old 11-05-2017, 07:27 PM Thread Starter

View dakermitb's Photo Album My Photos
Walnut Farm Table

Folks,

Bear with me, I'm new to woodworking and the community. This weekend I bought a 6" jointer and 12" planer to work with rough cut wood for the first time. My goal is to build a dining room table for my family. Dimensions are: 7' 6" X 40" with a basic frame underneath (yet to build). I planned to keep the table top width at 3/4", however after straightening out my boards on the jointer, and planning it down, I'm down to 5/8" for half of my boards.

Questions: Is 5/8" thick enough for a walnut table?

I stopped the project, to get inputs first. Thanks for any ideas you may have.

v/r,

Don
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 11-05-2017, 08:25 PM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
5/8" thick will work but it will have a little increased risk of warpage. You might screw a couple boards on the underside with elongated holes to help stabilize it. Use pan head screws and not tighten them down completely. If you haven't glued the wood together yet you may be closer to 9/16" by the time you put it together and sand it.
post #3 of 9 Old 11-05-2017, 08:38 PM Thread Starter

Thanks Steve for the advice. I still need to sand things down and glue them, so you are probably right--9/16" maybe. I like the idea of the loose screws to allow for the wood to expand. Perhaps I could use some of that under the frame to help hid it better.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 9 Old 11-06-2017, 12:17 PM

View FrankC's Photo Album My Photos