Suggestions for a bench seat - Newbie - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 7 Old 11-23-2012, 01:42 PM Thread Starter

View mroth_3's Photo Album My Photos
Question Suggestions for a bench seat - Newbie

Hello everyone. Just joined the forum and perhaps a little background would be appropriate. I recently finished school and now have a little free time to pursue my interests. I'm a mechanical engineer by day and seasonal asphalt mill operator by weekend for a portion of the year. I've always had an affinity for anything craftsman related but haven't had the time to develop the expertise. Most of my experience has been out of necessity, not for enjoyment.

I'm hoping to build a bench <seat>. I've been scouring the internet for images, maybe even plans, but have not found much to my liking. I'm hoping maybe someone could point me to a thread or pictures of something similar that I would be able to make.

I'm somewhat limited in tools so something with extravagant curves or extremely detailed is outside my abilities. I'd like it to have a hinged seat for storage underneath but not really a necessity. The one thing I would like it to have for sure is a metal inlay in the back so it will probably be a solid back. I'd like to use a plasma cutter to cut out a design. I guess you could think of this bench as something you'd find in an entryway.

If anyone has links or photos to something similar, suggestions on type of wood, techniques, or anything to add to the discussion I'd greatly appreciate it! I hope to finish it by Christmas as a present for a good friend.

Thanks! -Matt
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 11-23-2012, 02:22 PM
Old School

View cabinetman's Photo Album My Photos

Anything interesting here?

post #3 of 7 Old 11-23-2012, 04:55 PM
No Longer Here

View rrbrown's Photo Album My Photos
Welcome to the forum.

Sorry no ideas for your project.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 7 Old 11-24-2012, 08:24 PM