Sliding doors for cabinets: what material, width, technique? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 10 Old 05-11-2016, 06:52 PM Thread Starter

View womp945's Photo Album My Photos
Sliding doors for cabinets: what material, width, technique?

Hi all,

I'm new to woodworking and tackling my largest project yet (by far).

I'm planning some simple but strong storage cabinets with 3/4" Baltic birch and pocket screws. I don't want to make cabinet doors for 3 reasons: style (trying to achieve a mid-century look), cost (extra material and hinges) and complexity.

Instead, I'm thinking about making simple sliding doors for each cabinet opening, like this:

I have a few questions for the old pros here:

1. If the sliding doors are made from 1/8" plywood and are about 24" high, will I have a problem with the wood bowing?

2. What materials do you suggest for the doors? Is there a supplier of textured, patterned, or woven panels with mid-century styling, as in the above photo? What about hardboard?

3. What is the preferred method of construction for sliding doors? I was originally thinking to keep it simple and just cut 2 parallel grooves in the wood for the bypass doors, but now I'm thinking to purchase plastic track (pictured below) so that the doors will slide on plastic rather than wood. Any suggestions?

Thanks for your consideration!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 05-11-2016, 10:02 PM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos