Simple wooden chess pieces - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 12 Old 02-12-2018, 02:16 PM Thread Starter
David

View Catchwrestler's Photo Album My Photos
Simple wooden chess pieces

I'm fairly new to woodworking and I really want to start making this set. It doesn't look too difficult. I'm looking to get started right away. Any suggestions on wood type? And what steps to take to make the pieces?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20180212_110626_1518462891118.jpg
Views:	227
Size:	190.6 KB
ID:	341081  

Name:	20180212_110933_1518462925431.jpg
Views:	161
Size:	164.0 KB
ID:	341089  

Name:	20180212_110843_1518462948492.jpg
Views:	76
Size:	237.3 KB
ID:	341097  

Name:	20180212_110756_1518462982085.jpg
Views:	107
Size:	242.6 KB
ID:	341105  

David
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 02-12-2018, 02:44 PM

View TimPa's Photo Album My Photos
although not vertical original style pieces, I wouldn't call them simple. they appear to be walnut/maple. they would be started on the lathe, but the tops look like they are an inlayed emblem and a circle. pretty nice inlays.

someone more inlay knowledgeable will chime in....
post #3 of 12 Old 02-12-2018, 03:41 PM
Wood machinist

View difalkner's Photo Album My Photos
Welcome to the forum! When you get a minute go ahead and complete you profile with first name and location - we don't bite. Ok, some do, but most don't.

What tools do you have? Which woods are available to you, wherever you are? Do you have a dedicated shop area in which to work on this chess set? You might be able to buy the inlays for the particular pieces and then fashion the round pieces by hand if you don't have a lathe or access to one. It would be time consuming and they likely wouldn't be perfect, though.

Are you wanting to make the board, too? What do you have in the way of clamps, table saw, etc. to cut the wood to size and glue the pieces?

David

David

Curly Wood Shop on Etsy