Router Table plans. - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 19 Old 01-06-2011, 02:39 AM Thread Starter

View Devon7234's Photo Album My Photos
Router Table plans.

Hello everyone! I'm pretty new to the wood working world. I've been lurking here for quite some time. I recently picked up a router. I've been working with it a bit along side Taunton's Complete Illustrated Guide to Woodworking.
I thought it was time to go pick out a router table. I went to multiple big chain hardware stores and was sad with the selection of tables they had. I couldn't pull the trigger on $150 dollars of plastic and flimsy fences.
I've got a few designs for a sturdy table. I'm planning on using some T-Track for the fence with a feather board and T-Track for a miter slide.
I saw a pretty good idea of using a marble tile for the table insert. Any tips for getting the insert absolutely flat with the table surface? I'm going to draft up a plan on some graph paper when I get some time and post it here. Looking forward to learning!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 Old 01-06-2011, 11:01 AM

View wsommariva's Photo Album My Photos
Plansnow.com has a few router table designs. About $10. You don't need to build their design but you can perhaps learn a few things from the plans including you specific question.

I'm building a bookcase, so I bought a basic bookcase plan for tips.
post #3 of 19 Old 01-08-2011, 03:59 AM

View jpstewart's Photo Album My Photos
You are correct about the flimsy plastic router tables at the home centers. I built a router table several years ago with a purchased top. I made the thing into a cart with storage drawers etc, but now I find that it is really bigger than I need and I don't have enough room to store it.