Reduce thinkness on a wood board - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Chris Curl

post #1 of 18 Old 12-04-2017, 12:04 PM Thread Starter

View Nuno Cortesao's Photo Album My Photos
Reduce thinkness on a wood board

Hello,

I'm kind of newbie on wood projects and I want to do something that i'm not sure which is the best process to achieve it. I googled it alot but wasn't able to find a good answer.

I've a 44cm lenght wood board and i want to reduce the thinkness from 1,5cm to 0,5cm at a constant angle rate in the last 31 cm.

As the board is so skinny i'm not sure if i can do this cut on a saw.

The with dimension is 22.

But i'm not acquainted to the wood process

Can you give me some lights so I can investigate further?
Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 Old 12-04-2017, 12:47 PM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
not a task for a novice unless.....

As an experienced woodworker I would use a router and sled, tipping the board at the appropriate angle. The width of 22 cm coverts to 8.66 inches, is beyond the resaw capacity of all but the largest bandsaws. But that would be an easy solution if you have access to one.
You could make a series of cross cuts on the table saw with the board held in a jig at the appropriate angle and knock out the waste in between. Then plane the surface smooth with a hand plane. You could do the same with a hand held circular saw, adjusting the depth of cut vfor each succeeding cross cut which correspond to the angle.

The answer to your question will only be as detailed and specific as the question is detailed and specific. Good questions also include a sketch or a photo that illustrates your issue. (:< D)

Last edited by woodnthings; 12-04-2017 at 12:53 PM.
post #3 of 18 Old 12-04-2017, 01:43 PM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
It could be done on a jointer that is wide enough.
It could be done with a router sled
It could be done with a hand plane