Need help upgrading/rebuilding my bathroom cabinets - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 7 Old 06-02-2020, 02:35 AM Thread Starter

View RVC1's Photo Album My Photos
Need help upgrading/rebuilding my bathroom cabinets

I'm looking to upgrade the look of my bathroom vanity. Instead of replacing it completely I thought I'd just swap the panels. So instead of the plastic-like white, I'd like it to be a nice walnut wood. Basically simple flat panels, like the existing ones. Question is, how? (I'm not experienced in this).

This is the cabinet:

Solid panels of walnut are expensive. Would the right way to do this be to use composite plywood? Like?:

https://www.homedepot.com/p/Columbia...1765/203552991

If that would work, how to handle the edges? Some of that iron-on wood edging? That would be simple. Or, could I do solid wood edges, like:

Or (would this be difficult?):

With solid wood I could round the corner a bit, or cut a simple handle into it (or not). Could I do that with plywood?

Or perhaps there is a more cost effective solid wood that would look nice?

Any help or insight will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 06-02-2020, 06:09 AM

View johnedp34's Photo Album My Photos
I think I would go to a cabinet door replacement company. If you want to do it yourself, then perhaps veneer or even faced ply or hardboard. with edging strip.

https://www.kitchenrestoration.co.uk...hoCHv0QAvD_BwE

This company in UK, bound to be several in US.

johnep
post #3 of 7 Old 06-02-2020, 08:22 AM
English Bloke

View GrantCrawley.uk's Photo Album My Photos
I think I would probably search the Internet for walnut veneered MDF, it's easy to work with and cut (but make sure you wear a mask). Most places selling it will sell (or give) you some edging veneer too. With it being a bathroom, ask them if they can supply moisture-resistant MDF, I would also ask them if they can supply them cut to size and already edged.