Mission style fireplace mantel shelf - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 15 Old 11-27-2013, 02:11 AM Thread Starter
The Old Fisherman

View w1pers's Photo Album My Photos
Mission style fireplace mantel shelf

I would really love to get some good simple plans on how to build a fire place mantel shelf. Nothing fancy. I would like something in a mission style. I have been searching the internet for plans but can't really come up with anything. I am new to wood working and thought this would be a good starter project. Plus it would show my wife that buying all these new toys will be of some benefit.
I would appreciate any help I can get.
Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 11-27-2013, 06:08 AM
Sawdust Wrangler

View mobilepaul's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by w1pers View Post
I would really love to get some good simple plans on how to build a fire place mantel shelf. Nothing fancy. I would like something in a mission style. I have been searching the internet for plans but can't really come up with anything. I am new to wood working and thought this would be a good starter project. Plus it would show my wife that buying all these new toys will be of some benefit.
I would appreciate any help I can get.
Thanks.
I know of a couple of resources for what you ask. You, possibly, could get them from the library, I did. This first book has an arts and crafts mantle in it...

http://www.amazon.com/Building-Fireplace-Mantels-Mario-Rodriguez/dp/1561583855 pages 64, 82, 116

http://www.amazon.com/Constructing-Fireplace-Mantel-Step-Step/dp/0764324578/ref=pd_sim_b_2

http://www.amazon.com/Step-step-Classic-Fireplace-Mantel/dp/088740653X/ref=pd_bxgy_b_img_y

here's a free plan that you could modify to be more simple or more complex but it will show you some steps

http://www.finewoodworking.com/item/...replace-mantel

you can get some ideas from here

http://www.houzz.com/mission-style-fireplace

I hope this helps,

Paul