mid-way thru vanity project - sagging top! - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 22 Old 03-12-2015, 03:32 PM Thread Starter

View COamateur's Photo Album My Photos
mid-way thru vanity project - sagging top!

It's my first time building a vanity and I'm using some modified plans from an issue of Woodsmith Magazine. I built the box last summer, and I'm just now getting ready to build a face frame + drawers/doors when I noticed a fairly substantial sag in the top piece of plywood spanning the vanity. Part of this is due to my dimensions being slightly off...and perhaps part of it is due to time/craftsmanship...but at its sagging "peak" (in the middle of the vanity), I have just under 1/4" drop compared to the sides.

Installing the face frame on level will mean that the frame rises above the vanity box itself in the middle...and I'm also getting ready to have a granite countertop installed soon. Any recommendations on how to fix this?! Should I just install the face frame level and even with the corners...and then shim the middle? I don't like the idea of the granite not being well supported throughout...but I'm wracking my brain to come up with a good solution. Any and all ideas are appreciated!
Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 Old 03-12-2015, 06:50 PM

View Masterjer's Photo Album My Photos
Short of trying to straighten the top by applying a counter force to it, you could add another top of ply or mdf and shim between the new to and the old top. The face frame could cover the edges of both tops and you'd have full support for the granite.
post #3 of 22 Old 03-12-2015, 06:53 PM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
you have to break it loose

Tap underneath the top with a plastic mallet or a wooden block and break the glue joints free. Bring the top up to your level using clamps. Then insert wedges into the gap and reglue. Your verticals are less tall than the ends for some reason.