Machinist Box - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By NewBi
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 Old 12-14-2017, 09:54 AM Thread Starter
G.I.T.S.
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 134
View NewBi's Photo Album My Photos
Machinist Box

Greetings,

I am planning to build another Machinist Tool Box. This one from Ash with Walnut drawer fronts. Me and a friend built one a few years ago all from Select Pine from the Home Depot.

My question is: Should I cut the wood to rough dimensions and then mill it to 5/8 (Box) and 3/8 (Drawers) or should I mill the boards down to thickness then cut to rough dimensions?


Thanks,

Gary
NewBi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 12-14-2017, 10:29 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Garland, TX
Posts: 4,232
View Toolman50's Photo Album My Photos
I would plane the lumber down to thickness to start.
If your lumber is 12í long, I would cut it in half before starting to plane.
Use sheet material for drawer bottoms.
There should not be much waste in building your project. Good luck.

If you don't have time to do it right the first time, when will you have time to do it over?
Toolman50 is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 12-14-2017, 10:45 AM Thread Starter
G.I.T.S.
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 134
View NewBi's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toolman50 View Post
I would plane the lumber down to thickness to start.
If your lumber is 12í long, I would cut it in half before starting to plane.
Use sheet material for drawer bottoms.
There should not be much waste in building your project. Good luck.
Thanks for the fast reply. That is what I was thinking but wanted to ask the experts first. :)

The Ash the I have 4/4 x 8' so I will be cutting it half first.

Thanks again,

Gary
NewBi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 Old 12-14-2017, 10:54 AM
Senior Member
 
Catpower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Frognot Texas
Posts: 2,251
View Catpower's Photo Album My Photos
I would mill it in one piece, unless you are super lucky and have everything set perfectly you are going to get planer snipe, the little divot that happens for a few inches on one or both ends of the board, if you cut the boards in half you could end up with twice as much snipe that means twice as much waste
Catpower is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 12-14-2017, 01:08 PM Thread Starter
G.I.T.S.
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 134
View NewBi's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Catpower View Post
I would mill it in one piece, unless you are super lucky and have everything set perfectly you are going to get planer snipe, the little divot that happens for a few inches on one or both ends of the board, if you cut the boards in half you could end up with twice as much snipe that means twice as much waste
True. I was actually going to cut it into 2' pieces which would give me 2" of snip on each end of every board. Thanks for pointing that out because I would have had 10 to 12 inches of waste by the time I was done.


Gary
Catpower likes this.
NewBi is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome