How Would You Build This??? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 25 Old 02-26-2009, 10:15 PM Thread Starter

View Tom5151's Photo Album My Photos
How Would You Build This???

Allrighty...

So I see the wife intently sketching something on her nifty little skecthpad.......I say, "whachya sketchin honey?"......she says, "oh just a little somethin.".....I say, "Can I see?"......she says, "Sure, make this for me"

hmmmmmmmmm.............I have no idea.......

So everyone, how would you begin to approach this? I am new to all of this. I've built a little table. I am thinkinin this will be a little harder.....

HELP!!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	table.jpg
Views:	179
Size:	45.2 KB
ID:	7481  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 25 Old 02-26-2009, 11:02 PM

View beanie's Photo Album My Photos
I would do the cabinet by itself with no top.
The legs to the left would be as high at the cabinet tminus the thickness of the top.
Run a stringer connecting the legs on the left side then two stringers (fron and back) connecting the legs to the cabinet.
Knotch the legs before assembly to accept the shelves then screw the shelves from the inside of the cabinet.
Cover the entire thing with the finished top.

Atleast thats how I would do it LOL
post #3 of 25 Old 02-27-2009, 12:59 AM

View Tony B's Photo Album My Photos
Pretty much

What Beanie is trying to tell you is that moving this style piece will be a very delicate operation. While you are building this piece and finishing it, it will have to be lifted and rolled over several times. To make life easier, his suggestion is to build it in sections and assemble in place. I agree.

Tony B

Retired woodworker, amongst other things, Sold full time cruising boat and now full time cruising in RV. Currently in Somerville, Tx
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 25 Old 02-27-2009, 07:27 AM

View GeorgeC's Photo Album My Photos