How to Build a custom linen storage for bathroom - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 15 Old 10-20-2011, 01:01 PM Thread Starter

View Judy's Photo Album My Photos
Wink How to Build a custom linen storage for bathroom

Good morning -

I am a complete novice. I have some basic tools and limited knowledge but I am good at math. I am going to purchase an inexpensive table saw. I have a basic handheld router and a handheld power saw - I call it a Skil saw but that is the model not the name LOL...

I have designed a linen storage unit for my bathroom remodel and have some basic questions. I will likely need more assistance than this but I need to start somewhere. The image is below. This is rough as I am new to Sketchup.

I plan to use a dado and rabbet box but I am unsure how to attach the back - I want a back for strength even though it will be against a wall.

I also would like it to look nice so I want to add a front frame out of solid wood. What is a typical installation of this frame - say for example I wanted it to be 2" wide x 1/2" thick and I used 1/2" plywood for the sides of my storage unit. Do I place the 2" frame segment along the edge of the plywood?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	cabinet.jpg
Views:	1369
Size:	18.8 KB
ID:	30529  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 10-20-2011, 02:40 PM
No Longer Here

View frankp's Photo Album My Photos
There are several ways of doing it but I'm not clear what exactly you're asking with respect to the edge banding. If you make the band the same thickness as your ply, you can glue it directly to the ply edge and it will be as wide a band as you want (as an extension of the ply but the same thickness as the ply).

Will this be installed in a "nook" or open wall space? As for the back, I'd probably glue and screw it to the carcass. I'd probably also screw the whole thing into the wall, personally.
post #3 of 15 Old 10-20-2011, 03:50 PM
Learning!