Help with Stair Treads - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 6 Old 09-27-2012, 09:30 PM Thread Starter

View natetron66's Photo Album My Photos
Help with Stair Treads

Hi all,

I'm new to the forum, but will be using it quite frequently. I'm new to woodworking, so will have lots of questions and will be browsing old posts quite a bit.

I am taking on a project for a good friend of mine. He has completely finished his basement into a bar / social area. The only thing untouched has been the stairs. They are the generic pine stairs that the contractors installed when building the house. He wants me to remove the existing treads ( what you step on), and replace them with oak treads. I will be painting the the rest of the stairway white.

I currently have an abundance of 4/4 white oak. First question, is this suitable enough to work? The new treads I will be making will be 38" x 9". I'd like to make them somewhat fancy, different then a typical bullnose, by running a router on the two sides and the front of the treads. I was thinking of using my 1/8" cove and bead bit. So my second question is, will this look good, and also be functional, without hindering normal stair movement walking up and down?

I looked for pictures, but all I could find was bullnoses, but I'd like to do something different. I'd really like to do a great job on this due to the fact my good friend has clients over all the time, and this could really lead to alot of work from referencing.

Thanks all, and I look forward to working with you all!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 09-27-2012, 09:38 PM
Log dog

View Dominick's Photo Album My Photos
Welcome.
You say you have an abundance of oak? Why don't you do what you said and see how it looks. If you or your friend aren't happy with it you could change it.
Good luck and post pics.

When it's rustic......it's rustic
post #3 of 6 Old 09-28-2012, 07:00 AM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos