Hardboard Stabilization - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Steve Neul

post #1 of 9 Old 04-25-2019, 01:42 PM Thread Starter

View cjwood.33's Photo Album My Photos
Hardboard Stabilization

Hi All,
My current project is to glue a finished painting on canvas to 1/4" luan, which I will seal first. I want to prevent the board from warping, and have come up with 3 ways to glue strips to the back.

Which would be the most stable? : i would prefer avoiding miter cuts!

Thanks 👍
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1556213920629715051377_1556213982418.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	139.6 KB
ID:	374775  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 04-25-2019, 02:20 PM

View GeorgeC's Photo Album My Photos
I would not expect 1/4" Laun to warp. Why do you think it will?

George
post #3 of 9 Old 04-25-2019, 02:26 PM Thread Starter

Just my inexperience, I suppose. I've never done this before. Are you saying luan doesn't warp with time? That's good to know!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 9 Old 04-25-2019, 02:31 PM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
The only 1/4" sheet good I can think of that wouldn't warp would be melamine.

I'm not sure it's a good idea to do this though. I paint and have always been told the canvas needs to breathe.
Kerrys likes this.
post #5 of 9 Old 04-25-2019, 02:50 PM Thread Starter

Actually, I just googled luan warping, and it DOES warp! So.....what would be the best way to lay out the strips on the back side?
post #6 of 9 Old 04-25-2019, 03:07 PM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjwood.33 View Post
Actually, I just googled luan warping, and it DOES warp! So.....what would be the best way to lay out the strips on the back side?