First Bookshelf - First anything - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 5 Old 05-01-2013, 10:59 AM Thread Starter

View bjrscj's Photo Album My Photos
First Bookshelf - First anything

My wife and I just moved into a house about a year ago, and I'm finally getting around to some more cosmetic/leisure projects. The advent of Pinterest has also catalyzed the whole process. My wife has commissioned me to build a bookshelf in our formal living room. I have never built anything before, bookshelves included. There are so many guides online in regard to building shelves, but I have so many particulars, it's hard to know which one is best for my situation. I'd love any insight you could provide or any resources you could link me to.

The Job:

- Stand alone bookshelves covering nearly the whole wall (140w x 108h). It won't be one big shelf, but rather split up into three sections, most likely. We're open to different plans and looks, but we like more asymmetrical looks.
- The backing will be assembled with pallet boards to provide a rustic look
- The shelving boards will be painted white, so there's no need for a wood that stains nicely.

The Tools:

- Circular saw, sander, hammer, drill, workbench, ratchets

Considerations:

- We like cost efficiency, but we don't want to sacrifice quality. If the tradeoff is worth it, we'll spend more.
- I have minimal knowledge of woodworking and minimal equipment
- I have people who can loan tools or help me once I have an idea of what I'm doing, so I may be able to do a little more than basics if I'm pointed towards an idea.

The Questions:

- What sort of plan would look decent but could be done by someone in my position? We're going for a rustic look, so it doesn't have to be a stained, ornate shelf.
- What sort of wood should we use? We don't need a nice staining wood, but we want a wood that won't have too many issues warping, that will hold up to use, is sturdy, yet is cost effective.