Dining Room Table - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 9 Old 10-21-2014, 10:02 AM Thread Starter

View pry2877's Photo Album My Photos
Dining Room Table

I know there are a few other dining room table post but I didn't find all my answers there, so sorry for any repeated questions.
I have some woodworking experience. I have done a couple build ins and couple free standing shelving units. I am looking to tackle a little bigger project, as in a dining room table for my in-laws. It will be around 27" tall by 68" long by 32" wide. Those are not exact finish measurements yet, just off top my head rough guess. I have not drawn it up yet but I am looking a pretty basic design of table top, what I would call a skirt board around the edge under the table top, and 1 leg in each corner. The table top thickness will most likely be 1.5" thick and several boards joined together. The whole table will be made of red cedar. I am concerned how to support the center of the table.

So my biggest and first question is structurally how do I support the center of the table to prevent it from sagging?

I am also open to all other suggestions and opinions.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 11-02-2014, 02:22 AM
Making sawdust in MS

View rayking49's Photo Album My Photos
With an apron installed under the top, and inset from tops edge, the top receives support from the apron. Breadboard ends will also help keep a top flat, while allowing it to expand and contract with the seasons.
post #3 of 9 Old 11-03-2014, 07:19 AM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by rayking49 View Post
With an apron installed under the top, and inset from tops edge, the top receives support from the apron. Breadboard ends will also help keep a top flat, while allowing it to expand and contract with the seasons.