design help with an artbox/easel design - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 8 Old 05-08-2018, 07:45 PM Thread Starter

View Brian Meyer's Photo Album My Photos
design help with an artbox/easel design

I am working on a design for a combination cart / easel, which is designed much like a chest. I would like to figure out how to make the lid of this chest rise up to about the height of a table. I am an artist first, woodworker second, mostly learning things as I go, and probably don't know quite basic things, but at the same time seem to be able to figure out how to make things work.

I have some ideas, but would like to know if there are terms for what I am describing - searching for a riser leads to unrelated results, and this isn't designed like any existing easel.

To give background...
This was designed to carry my art supplies, but also to fold out in various ways to I can just start painting in a minute, instead of taking 5 minutes to fold out the legs of a french easel ( not to mention getting everything else set up ), but it has everything laid out how I need it. This is all very experimental with the intent of seeing if there is a better way.

I have an existing box like top section ( my lid ), where two drawers slide out to allow a tilting drawing board to rise from underneath - using friction hinges, while the art supplies are on each side. I copied this from some chests I have seen where the top opens not up, but instead has drawer slides to let it slide out. I am not going to go into the design details more than that, except it's a working unit which is complicated (there is a picture attached). This is about 6" tall with plans to add another 2-3" to work as a lid, lights, or other things for art supplies.

Now I also designed a simple cart/box, which is about 12" tall, which fits under this box which it uses as a lid. There is a wheel on one side, and I am planning on adding a handle of some sort to help me pull it.