Creating a simple box or sliding lid box! Complete newbie, please help! - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By sunnybob
  • 1 Post By sanvito

post #1 of 14 Old 11-10-2018, 06:31 AM Thread Starter

View Lucas Purpleheart's Photo Album My Photos
Question Creating a simple box or sliding lid box! Complete newbie, please help!

Hello, everyone! I am an avid wood enthusiast and still very new to to woodworking. I wanted to make a sliding lid box but fear my inexperience will force me to start with a hinged lid box. So here goes:

I want to make simple 3.5 in x 3.5 in x 6 (or 4x4x6) inch boxes to place some pottery I make in. I was thinking of practicing with cheap wood like pine or even plywood and veneer, but the endgoal is to make these from exotic wood from Purpleheart or Rosewood for really special pieces. Here is an elongated example: [Example 1] but more this size Picture and ultimately, I really want to do something like this, i want all examples, for my boxes to have sliding lids but this example has an acrylic lid with the logo etched on Example 3 I know it is a lot but presentation is a big factor for me. In the end, however, I think since I can't make sliding boxes without a tablesaw easily, I will just go with a hinged lid for now. When joining the sides together, are nails necessary if the glue is strong enough? I would rather not have nails show. Also, where is the best location online to buy metal hinges?