Creating a dining table using 2 kitchen bench tops - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Tennessee Tim

post #1 of 5 Old 10-18-2018, 11:16 PM Thread Starter

View aknt's Photo Album My Photos
Question Creating a dining table using 2 kitchen bench tops

Hi all,

First and foremost I'm complete novice at anything remotely related to woodworking (it's far from my professional field), but for a fun home project, I was interested in creating a dining table by using two kitchen benchtops and pre-made metal steel legs.

Each kitchen bench top
Material: Solid oak
Length: 1830mm
Width: 630mm
Depth: 38mm
Weight: 34kg

Each metal leg frame
Material: Engineering grade steel powder-coated in black
Width: 700mm
Height: 730mm
Frame: 75mm x 25mm
Weight capacity combined: 160kg

I have attached two photos:
1) showing the table legs
2) showing a rough visualisation I put together in photoshop. The photo is upside down with the benchtops actually lying on the floor, and I've just put the metal legs over it. Please note that the metal legs are upside down (so the thin metal bar would actually be in contact with the timber)

I have very little tools on hand but my intention is to screw the metal legs into the bottom of the benchtops as pictured.

Complete dining table
Length: 1830mm
Width: 1260mm +/- the gap between benchtops
Height: 7680mm
Seat: 8 (hopefully)

------------------

I was wondering if I may ask the community for some advice regarding the following:

1) Without joining the benchtops together with glue, will the metal frame itself be enough to hold the weight of the benchtops?
- From my rough maths, it seems that there will be roughly 280mm of overhang, and 350mm of coverage by the metal legs (i.e. 700m/2) so it's just past the centre of gravity?

2) Would there be enough stability in the longitudinal axis? i.e. will it wobble if I stood at the end and rocked it?

3) Would this be enough to seat 8 people? (3 on each long end and 1 at each short end)