Calling all door hinge experts - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 6 Old 12-28-2018, 03:19 PM Thread Starter

View JoshSnow's Photo Album My Photos
Calling all door hinge experts

Hi Guys,
New to the forum. Hope this is the right section. Racking my brain on this one but haven't been able to come up with anything.
I'm no professional so I figured I'd ask and see if there was a simple solution out there first.

I have a recessed crawl space door that I cant figure out how to hinge due to the thickness of the door/pivot point of the hinge.
Would rather not have a hinge poking out of the floor for obvious reasons.
Hopefully the picture explains the situation but I can elaborate if it doesn't. Seems the door has to move away from the floor and up and the same time in a sweeping motion.
The arrow shows the desired movement of the door.
Thanks for looking

Josh
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	CrawlSpace Door.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	63.1 KB
ID:	369827  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 12-28-2018, 06:15 PM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
Is the crawl space in a closet or someplace not regularly walked on? You could just put common butt hinges on it. You might also just put a recessed pull ring on it and not hinge it at all. If the door was hinged it would be cumbersome getting in and out of there. If the door was lifted out and put aside it might be easier.
post #3 of 6 Old 12-29-2018, 11:16 AM

View Tool Agnostic's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Neul View Post
Is the crawl space in a closet or someplace not regularly walked on? You could just put common butt hinges on it. You might also just put a recessed pull ring on it and not hinge it at all. If the door was hinged it would be cumbersome getting in and out of there. If the door was lifted out and put aside it might be easier.