6Likes
  • 2 Post By Toolman50
  • 1 Post By Mikhail2400
  • 2 Post By Tool Agnostic
  • 1 Post By gj13us

post #1 of 20 Old 10-03-2018, 03:13 PM Thread Starter

View RustyB's Photo Album My Photos
built-in desk

If you were going to make a built-in desk, would you use 1"x or 2"x wood. And 4" wide, 6" wide, 12" wide or what would be most stable?

“Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever.”
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 Old 10-03-2018, 04:31 PM

View John Smith_inFL's Photo Album My Photos
Rusty, it would help to know the overall size of the desk top.
will there be a base that has drawers? or, just on 2 or 4 legs.
the wood that you intend to use will also be a factor in getting
the correct responses.
and when you say "built in" desk - built in to what ??
drawings, sketches and photos of examples will also help.

-- I am a painter. That's what I do. I paint things --

Last edited by John Smith_inFL; 10-03-2018 at 04:38 PM.
post #3 of 20 Old 10-04-2018, 01:41 PM Thread Starter

No drawers, just a desktop built into the corner of my home office. Attached to the walls. About 2' x 4'. I am just wondering if I use 1" thick wood, if it will warp over time, if made out of several pieces and how wide of dimension lumber would be best.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 20 Old 10-04-2018, 02:43 PM

View Toolman50's Photo Album My Photos
If you put two 3/4” pieces of plywood together, this will give you a good strong and flat 1 1/2” thick top.
Use wood tape or solid wood on the exposed edge.
Plywood comes in many different hardwood veneers and can finish out beautifully.
The bottom piece of plywood can be Fir because it won’t be seen.

If you don't have time to do it right the first time, when will you have time to do it over?
post #5 of 20 Old 10-04-2018, 03:41 PM Thread Starter

Wife won't go for plywood.

post #6 of 20 Old 10-04-2018, 04:15 PM

View GeorgeC's Photo Album My Photos
Quote: