Advice for Newbie's Design? (First Project) - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 12 Old 06-14-2013, 01:58 AM Thread Starter

View Jordan_SD's Photo Album My Photos
Advice for Newbie's Design? (First Project)

Hi, I have been checking out this forum for a little while as the woodworking bug bit me, and to top it off my awesome wife got me some tools for fathers day (including a Bosch router). Thought I would see if someone had any advice for my first project.

I am just getting into woodworking. I am handy with tools and have done plenty of construction/remodeling but never tried to make furniture before. My first project is a set of much needed bedside tables. Our style is somewhere between asian inspired and african, weird I know but that is the way it is.

Our current house has quite a bit of "shaker" style cabinetry and we really like that as well. So tonight I downloaded and tried to use sketchup, but the learning curve is a little steep so I had some trouble. I think what I have will give everyone a good idea of what my original idea is. The tables will end up being a very dark wood or stain (think espresso finish or a bit lighter than that).

Anyway my plans are to build this table 30" tall, 20"x20" square top. Aprons and supports will all be attached to the legs with dowels, or something simple like that.

In the image you will see what looks like a shelf with a large front face. The plan is for this to be a charging area for electronics and the shelf will actually slide out on undermount slides. Below that is a simple drawer for more storage.