Woodworking Talk banner

Advice on Hardware for Lazy Susan Corner Cab

1K views 7 replies 5 participants last post by  FrankC 
#1 ·
I'm working on designing and building my first corner base cabinet with two lazy susans. They are 32" in diameter and I am soliciting opinions on the best hardware for these. Also, any comments on my design are sincerely welcome, as I've never built anything like this before. I don't see much online in the way of design examples, so I'm kind of winging it here.:wallbash:

Cheers!

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·
i was never a fan of the lazy susan corner cabinets, hidden corners that trap stuff falling off shelves
until... i bought this type for my kitchen, basic kraftmaid cabinet from home depot
it came as a round box, depended on adjoining cabinets for support

this is from the kraftmaid site, lazy susan is 36" diameter, doors are double hinged, hung on one stile
full 3/4 round shelf top, mid and bottom, they don't show the back side on the site
i'll be honest, i didn't think it would hold up, that was 21 years ago

the back and sides of the cabinet didn't exist, no toe kick either (not this style door either)
just a 3/4 round box on legs with door frame

similar to this design, not the doors or the extra stile on left side

#4 ·
i was never a fan of the lazy susan corner cabinets, hidden corners that trap stuff falling off shelves

I have been hesitant about the lazy susan format for the same reason . . . stuff falling off and being lost. I will build a "fence" around the edge of each shelf to help prevent that from happening. I also plan to store larger pots and items less likely to fall into the abyss. I'm leaning to not having a central pole as that limits the capabilities and capacities of the shelf itself. My version will provide full access for items across the center of each shelf.