• 2 Post By Steve Neul
  • 1 Post By Steve Neul
  • 3 Post By FrankC
  • 2 Post By epicfail48

post #1 of 14 Old 04-04-2019, 02:43 PM Thread Starter

View Jsunnb's Photo Album My Photos
Actual vs Nominal Plywood Thicknesses

Hello all,

First time poster here. Im ramping up to make a bathroom vanity, simple shaker style. But Im struggling with how I handle the difference between actual wood thickness and nominal thickness.

My background is mechanical engineering and Ive fully designed the cabinet in Solidworks (3D CAD) and plan to make some flat drawings and start making my first cabinet. But when I lookup 3/4 plywood at a home improvement store like Home Depot, I find that 3/4 plywood is actually 23/32 nominal (seems being under by 1/32 is normal because its sanded flat) but from there, the actual thickness is even less still, Home Depot says 3/4 birch is actually 0.703, so much closer to being 3/64 undersized.

It seems to me while 1/32 isnt impossible, working in 1/16 as your smallest increment is probably most realistic since a pencil line can be nearly 1/32 thick. Im wondering how this is handled? My dad who does a lot of woodworking, but mainly does things like jewelry boxes, says that youll eat up that gap easily with glue and imperfections and just plan as if it was 3/4. But when I look at how thick 3/64 is on my calipers, it seems like an awful lot to eat up.

How is this normally handled in cabinet making, or is there plywood I can buy that is actually 3/4 that I should be using instead of what I find at Home Depot? Seems crazy to try and measure and add/subtract 0.047" from my measurements to take into account this difference in thickness.

Thank you in advance for any help you can give
Jason
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 04-04-2019, 03:08 PM
Wood machinist

View difalkner's Photo Album My Photos