Working with Reclaimed Wood - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 4 Old 02-23-2018, 03:30 PM Thread Starter

View Nick W.'s Photo Album My Photos
Working with Reclaimed Wood

I am new to woodworking and I've built several tables with wood bought from Lowe's. I have a lady who wants me to build her a small table from wood that she has and it's laying around in her garage. The wood came off an old barn belonging to her grandparents. I have never built anything from reclaimed wood. I have read up on it and I think it's just like building anything from any wood from Lowe's. Other than the following items, what else do I need to do or make sure it's done?
1. Make sure wood is dry enough to work with. Wood needs to be around a 7.0-8.0
2. Make sure wood is straight and not damaged. (Dry rotted, etc.)
3. Use the wood just like I would if it were from Lowe's

I guess my question(s) would be, do I need to plane the wood? Do I need to clean it or anything or does the planning do that? I don't own a planer, so what are my other options?

Any advice or pointers would be appreciated. Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 02-23-2018, 04:56 PM

View TomCT2's Photo Album My Photos
the number one thing you need is a metal detector. nails, screws, staples, tacks will just ruin your day blades.
next rub it down looking for all tiny stone pebbles that mystically embed themselves in places you'd never suspect would happen....

working with old wood - in good condition - is a joy. it's stable and works well. old reclaimed wood that's been kept and stored right is far superior to anything you'll find at Lowes.

carefully check the edges/ends for dry shrinkage areas - you may have to cut/trim off to get to solid uncracked/unsplinted/unshrunk stock. if it doesn't look solid, it isn't - and if you try to 'save' it, you'll very likely be unhappy with that effort after it's all done.