Wood finishing technique - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 5 Old 03-28-2011, 08:24 PM Thread Starter

View Summer77's Photo Album My Photos
Wood finishing technique

I'm a novice. Last October, on a Frontier flight, I saw an article in what I believe was the airline's in-flight magazine that involved applying wax in a certain way before applying stain to produce a striking light-on-dark effect. My memory may be failing me, but I seem to recall that the name of the technique started with an "r" and may have involved a step to deliberately raise the wood grain to create a more dramatic contrast. Can anyone help me pin this down? Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 03-28-2011, 08:45 PM
Old School

View cabinetman's Photo Album My Photos

Quote:
Originally Posted by Summer77 View Post
I'm a novice. Last October, on a Frontier flight, I saw an article in what I believe was the airline's in-flight magazine that involved applying wax in a certain way before applying stain to produce a striking light-on-dark effect. My memory may be failing me, but I seem to recall that the name of the technique started with an "r" and may have involved a step to deliberately raise the wood grain to create a more dramatic contrast. Can anyone help me pin this down? Thanks!
I don't know of a technique that would apply wax before a stain. I certainly wouldn't do it. It's possible you misunderstood the process.

post #3 of 5 Old 03-29-2011, 07:53 AM

View TGRANT's Photo Album My Photos